Where Dreams Meet the Business of Writing

Here’s an excellent reminder.
I’m printing out a page to post by my computer to remind me of these vague words that creep into my own writing.
And on that note — Have a ‘nice’ day!

Alison Williams Writing

A-Z Challenge

For the A-Z challenge, I am posting writing and editing tips to help you improve and enhance your writing.

N is for Nice… and other boring adjectives you can do without

Borat-VeryNice

In a past life I taught creative writing to children. I spent hours going on and on about adjectives, writing down example after example, and using the words to ‘improve’ boring sentences. Now I spend hours working with authors advising them to cut adjectives from their work to make it less boring.

Of course, in the case of the children the goal was to extend their vocabulary and to teach them about words. With my authors, the goal is to help them weed out all those things that drag their writing down.

Adjectives, as I have noted in other posts, should be used with caution. And broad adjectives shouldn’t be used at all (except in dialogue).

For…

View original post 123 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

