Where Dreams Meet the Business of Writing

D: Dialogue

During the month of April, Writer’s Zen shares affirmations for authors for the A to Z Blog Challenge  which is posting every day except Sunday’s, using the letters of the alphabet from A to Z.

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

For more A to Z blogs, check out the over 1700 blogs that are participating here.

TT_040416

I write dialogue that is crisp and fresh.

My dialogue is realistic and natural.

My dialogue opens doorways into my characters thoughts and actions.

My dialogue and narrative are balanced and in the right proportions.

I use limited dialogue tags, only when necessary, to seamlessly maintain the flow of the story.

The dialogue I write accentuates the story and the characters.

I reveal what is needed through well placed, life-like dialogue.

My dialogue paints pictures in the reader’s minds.

Comments on: "D: Dialogue" (12)

  1. Flossie Benton Rogers said:

    Yes to all of this! You write amazing dialogue. I am not familiar with Writer’s Zen, but what a clever idea.

  2. You can explain your love for a dialogue very well, too 😉 Nice way to combine TT with your A-Z.

  3. Thank you for the affirmation. Sometimes my dialogue is a little clunky, so this will help.

  4. Loved those affirmations. I will have to think about adding regular affirmations to my own life – and writing.

    • Yes, Pat, add your affirmations! They’ve really helped me. You can write your own, or find some you like and customize them to fit what you need for your life.
      Have a great day!

  5. Hiya! I’m Shalini and I’m on co-host Pam’s Unconventional Alliance Team.
    Dropping by to say hi and good luck with the challenge!
    Let’s have a rocking April!
    You can read Army Wife Tales at
    Tale Of Two Tomatoes
    Also, visit to take a look at 26 lip-smacking Chicken Recipes at Something’s Cooking

  6. I love writing dialogue. That’s when things really start to flow for me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

